Dr. John D. Loeser is Professor emeritus of Neurological Surgery and Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, and was the Director of the Multidisciplinary Pain Center at the University of Washington from 1983 to 1997. He is a graduate of Harvard College (1957) and New York University School of Medicine (1961).  He has been active in research, teaching and patient care in the field of Pain Management for over 45 years.  He is the Past President of the American Pain Society and the International Association for the Study of Pain and a former Fulbright Senior Scholar in Australia.  He was the Assistant Dean for Curriculum at the UW from 1977-1982.  His recent clinical interests focus upon health care for low back pain and the management of pains related to injuries of the nervous system.  He is particularly interested in multidisciplinary pain management and the development of rational strategies for the treatment of patients with chronic pain.  
John Loeser
Anthony Dickenson, BSc, PhD, FmedSci, FBPharmcolS is Professor of Neuropharmacology in the Department of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology at University College, London, United Kingdom. He gained his PhD at the National Institute for Medical Research, London, and has held posts in Paris, California and Sweden.  His research interests are pharmacology of the brain, including the mechanisms of pain and how pain can be controlled in both normal and pathophysiological conditions, and how to translate basic science to the patient.Prof. Dickenson is an Honorary Member of the British Pain Society , was a member of the Council of the International Association for the Study of Pain for 6 years and is Section Editor for the journal Pain. He has authored more than 340 refereed publications and has an h index of 90, all due to his motivated and brilliant research team; he is a founding and continuing member of the Wellcome Trust funded London Pain Consortium.   
Tony Dickenson
David Finn is Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Science Foundation Ireland Principal Investigator and Co-Founder and Co-Director of the Centre for Pain Research at the National University of Ireland (NUI), Galway.  Professor Finn graduated with a BSc (Hons) in Biotechnology from NUI Galway in 1997 and a PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Bristol in 2001.  From 2001 to 2004, he worked as a Post-doctoral Research Fellow at the Institute of Neuroscience, University of Nottingham.  From 2004-2013, he held lectureship positions in Physiology and Pharmacology at NUI Galway and was appointed to a Personal Professorship in Pharmacology and Therapeutics in 2014.  Professor Finn's research aims to increase our understanding of the neurobiology of pain and psychiatric disorders including anxiety and depression.  He is currently President of the Irish Pain Society (2015 - 2017), has published over 115 peer-reviewed manuscripts in international journals, and frequently lectures at national and international conferences.  

David Finn

Eamon O'Shea is a Personal Professor in the Department of Economics,  founder Director of the Irish Centre for Social Gerontology (ICSG) and Director of the Centre for Economic & Social Research on Dementia at the National University of Ireland Galway. His research interests are focused on the economics of ageing, rural gerontology and dementia.  His work has been influential in setting the agenda for reform of services and policies for older people in Ireland. Professor O'Shea has recently been awarded a Health Research Board Leader Grant in Dementia.  The award provides the research framework to support the implementation of the National Dementia Strategy. The research programme will investigate cost-effective, person-centred, pathways to care and placement for people on the margins of home care and residential care.